Houston pharmacy owners and a physician sentenced in a $126 million compounding scheme against workers' compensation and TRICARE

2023 United States Sentenced

On April 13, 2023 nine defendants were sentenced in the Southern District of Texas for a years-long, multi-state scheme to defraud the Department of Labor's workers' compensation program (OWCP) and TRICARE. The Justice Department titled its announcement a "$126M" compounding fraud scheme. The defendants included three pharmacy owners, a physician, two pharmacists and three patient recruiters. John Cruise, a co-owner of Assurance Consolidated Pharmacy in Spring, Texas, received 20 years; his co-owner LaShonia Johnson received 15 years; Kenny Ozoude, owner of Compounding Solutions LLC, received 10 years; and Dr. James Don Jackson received five years.

Year
2023
Where
United States
Outcome
Sentenced
Reported loss
$126.0 million
Victims
Not stated in the sources
Schemes
Compounded prescription fraud
Last reviewed
2026-11-03

The facts, as recorded

Why this case matters

It shows the whole chain in one prosecution: the pharmacy owners who billed, the pharmacists who filled, the physician who prescribed and the recruiters who found the patients. The Justice Department says each link was paid to keep the claims coming, and that the drugs were chosen for what they paid, not for what a patient needed.

Two payers, not one

The claims went to two different programs. OWCP is the Labor Department’s workers’ compensation program for injured federal workers; TRICARE is the health program for service members and their families. The announcement describes prescriptions written for “injured federal workers and members of the armed forces.” One of the defendants’ organizations, the Injured Federal Workers Advocate Association, presented itself as an organization that purported to assist injured federal workers.

The sentences

The sentences ran from one year and six months for the two patient recruiters to 20 years for Cruise. The physician, Dr. Jackson, and the pharmacist-in-charge of Compounding Solutions each received five years. The announcement lists a further four defendants, including two physicians, whose sentencing was set for May 12, 2023; this page does not state their sentences because the source does not.

The caveat

All nine defendants named here have been sentenced, so this is a resolved criminal case, not an allegation. The “$126 million” figure is the Justice Department’s own headline for the scheme; the announcement does not break it down by payer, by pharmacy or by defendant, and this page does not either. The announcement does not say how many patients were affected. Sentences are the trial court’s; this page did not research appeals.

Sources

  1. Nine Defendants Sentenced in $126M Compounding Fraud Scheme. U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Public Affairs (copy hosted by the Department of Labor Office of Inspector General). Accessed 2026-11-03. Supports: All nine defendants' ages, roles and sentences, the OWCP and TRICARE victims, the reimbursement-driven choice of compounds, the kickbacks to recruiters and physicians, the drugs mailed to patients who often never wanted them, and the four defendants awaiting sentencing.

If a legal outcome in this case has changed, please tell us and the page will be corrected. See the corrections policy.