Trademark solicitation scams

Also called: fake USPTO invoice · trademark renewal scam · patent and trademark bureau scam · IP register scam · misleading IP invoice · trademark monitoring scam

Trademark solicitation scams mail or email trademark owners official-looking notices demanding fees for renewals, publication or monitoring that the real patent office never charges this way. They work because filings are public. A Latvian operator was sentenced in 2021 for defrauding more than 2,900 U.S. registrants of over $4.5 million.

Key facts

Category
Business & payments
First documented
2013
Typical loss
$385–$2k USD, per victim
Main channels
postal letter, email, phone call, text message
Who is targeted
Small businesses and sole founders who have just filed a first trademark application and do not yet have a lawyer; Owners of registrations approaching a real maintenance deadline, who expect a notice to arrive; Businesses without in-house counsel, where an accounts-payable clerk pays anything that looks like a fee; Owners of European Union trade marks and designs, whose details the EU register also publishes; Applicants who received a real USPTO office action and assume a second letter is part of the same process
Documented origins
United States, LV, Germany
Main targets
United States, Germany, United Kingdom
Case files
3 documented cases
Last reviewed
2026-09-20
Anatomy of a trademark solicitation scamAnatomy of a trademark solicitation scam. The register is public, so the mailing list is free. 1. A list from public records: Owners' names, addresses and marks are taken from the public register. Nothing is hacked. 2. A name borrowed from the real office: Companies are named 'Patent and Trademark Office', 'Compliance Center' or 'European IP Register', with a prestigious address. 3. The letter: It cites the real mark, a deadline and a 'total due'. Sometimes the deadline is wrong; sometimes 'proposal' is in tiny print. 4. The payment: The owner pays a few hundred to a couple of thousand dollars: $385 in one case, $1,850 in another. 5. Nothing is delivered: The 'renewal' the company had no authority to perform never happens, or the promised monitoring is never done. 6. The cash is moved on: Payments land in bank accounts; in one case, accounts opened with other people's identities to launder proceeds. 7. Enforcement arrives, sometimes: Convictions followed years later: about three years of operation in South Carolina, Dec 2020 report to Sept 2024 verdict in Munich. The diagram marks stage 4 as the point where the scheme can still be stopped: The real deadline is one lookup away: the owner's own record in the official status system. If the letter's deadline or fee is not there, it did not come from the office.Anatomy of a trademark solicitation scamThe register is public, so the mailing list is free.1A list from publicrecordsOwners' names, addressesand marks are taken fromthe public register.Nothing is hacked.Days2A name borrowed fromthe real officeCompanies are named 'Patentand Trademark Office','Compliance Center' or'European IP Register',with a prestigious address.Days3The letterIt cites the real mark, adeadline and a 'total due'.Sometimes the deadline iswrong; sometimes 'proposal'is in tiny print.Weeks after filing4The paymentThe owner pays a fewhundred to a couple ofthousand dollars: $385 inone case, $1,850 inanother.Days5Nothing is deliveredThe 'renewal' the companyhad no authority to performnever happens, or thepromised monitoring isnever done.Months6The cash is moved onPayments land in bankaccounts; in one case,accounts opened with otherpeople's identities tolaunder proceeds.Weeks7Enforcement arrives,sometimesConvictions followed yearslater: about three years ofoperation in SouthCarolina, Dec 2020 reportto Sept 2024 verdict inMunich.YearsWhere it can still be stopped: stage 4The real deadline is one lookup away: the owner's own record in the official status system. If the letter's deadline or fee is not there, it did not come fromthe office.Stages from three cases: United States v. Suhorukovs (D.S.C., 2021), the Trademark Compliance Center case announced by the Department of Justice in December 2016, and the September 2024 Munich convictions over 'IP Register UG'. Sources accessed 2026-09-20.howscamswork.com
The stages of the scheme, in order, with the point where it can still be stopped.

What it is

A business files a trademark. Within days or weeks, a letter or email arrives that looks like it came from the government: a heading with “Patent” and “Trademark” in it, the mark’s exact name and serial number, a deadline, and a sum due. The sender is a private company. The government does not send it, and often the service it describes is not needed, is overpriced, or is never delivered at all.

The mechanism depends on one fact: trademark filings are public. Anyone can build a list of people who just paid to register a mark. The USPTO itself notes that these notices often resemble invoices, cite public records and put “U.S.” or “United States” in the sender’s name.

Some solicitations are only misleading. The ones on this page are the ones prosecutors treated as crimes: a Latvian national who sent fake renewal notices to more than 2,900 registrants, two Californians who sold a monitoring service that never monitored, and three defendants in Munich convicted over “European IP Register” invoices.

How it actually works

  1. A list built from public records

    A mailing list is compiled from public trademark databases: the owner’s name, address, the mark and often its status. Nothing is hacked, because the register is designed to be searched.

  2. A name borrowed from the real office

    The sender registers a company, or several, with a name that echoes the real agency: “Patent and Trademark Office, LLC”, “Trademark Compliance Center” or “European IP Register”. A prestigious-looking address, in some documented cases a virtual office, sits on the letterhead.

  3. The letter

    The letter cites the owner’s real mark and states a deadline and a “total due”. In one documented case the deadline was September 15, 2021 for a registration that was not due until 2024. In another, the note that it was only a proposal appeared in print too small to read.

  4. The payment

    The owner pays a few hundred to a couple of thousand dollars, often by cheque or bank transfer to the address on the letter. A documented victim sent $1,850; the monitoring service in the second case cost $385.

    Where it could have stopped

    The real deadline is one lookup away: the owner’s own record in the USPTO’s status system (or the EUIPO’s register) shows every actual due date and every official document. If the letter’s deadline or fee is not there, it is not from the office.

  5. Nothing, or almost nothing, is delivered

    The “renewal” the company had no authority to perform never happens, or the monitoring and customs recording promised for $385 is never done. The owner may not find out until the real deadline nears.

  6. The cash is moved on

    Payments land in bank accounts. In the Californian case, prosecutors described accounts opened using other people’s identities to launder the proceeds. In the South Carolina case, investigators later found almost $2.3 million in accounts and $1.28 million in uncashed cheques.

  7. Enforcement arrives, sometimes

    The trademark office lists complaints, and a few operators are prosecuted. The Latvian operator ran for about three years before conviction; the Munich scheme was reported to prosecutors in December 2020 and produced convictions in September 2024.

Why it works

The recipient just did something official. A fresh filing makes people expect paperwork, so a letter about a “requirement” feels routine rather than suspicious.

The stakes feel real. Losing a registration is a genuine fear, and a deadline turns a small fee into an easy decision.

The details are correct. The mark’s name, filing date and owner address all match, because they came from the official record. Accuracy passes for authenticity.

The price is low. $385 or even $1,850 is small for a business, well below the effort of investigating it.

And the disclaimers are technically present. As the Munich case shows, the “this is an offer” wording can exist in the letter, just not where anyone will read it.

Where it comes from

Mostly commercial mailings, with operators in the countries the cases document.

The US cases involved a defendant abroad and one at home. One was a Latvian citizen prosecuted in South Carolina; the other two named defendants in the monitoring case were Californians.

Europe has its own version. The EU’s intellectual property office has published a database of misleading payment requests, and Munich’s 2024 convictions followed a 2017 Swedish one, according to the EUIPO.

The UK reports the same pressure. The trade mark attorneys’ body CITMA cited a 63% increase in unsolicited payment requests reported by the UK IPO.

Phone and text impersonation is a newer branch. In September 2025 the FTC warned about calls, texts and emails using spoofed caller ID and real USPTO employee names.

Real cases

'IP Register UG': a Munich court convicts three over fake EUIPO invoices

2024 DE Sentenced

In September 2024 the Munich court found three defendants guilty of commercial gang fraud for sending letters under the name "IP Register UG" that closely resembled official European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO) fee invoices. Each was sentenced to one year and ten months, suspended for three years' probation, and the court ordered confiscation of about €200,000. The EUIPO called it an important legal precedent.

Read the case file · 3 sources

A Latvian national fakes the Patent and Trademark Office and is sentenced for mail fraud

2021 US · LV Sentenced $4.5m

Viktors Suhorukovs, a citizen of Latvia, pleaded guilty to four counts of mail fraud and was sentenced in September 2021 in the District of South Carolina to more than four years in federal prison, with more than $4.5 million in restitution ordered. Through two companies called "Patent and Trademark Office, LLC" and "Patent and Trademark Bureau, LLC" he sent trademark owners fake renewal notices demanding inflated fees. More than 2,900 registrants were affected.

Read the case file · 4 sources

'Trademark Compliance Center': a $385 monitoring service that never monitored anything

2016 US Convicted $1.7m

In December 2016 the U.S. Department of Justice announced the case of two Glendale, California men, Artashes Darbinyan and Orbel Hakobyan, who pleaded guilty to mail fraud and money laundering charges over a mass-mailing scam run under the names Trademark Compliance Center and Trademark Compliance Office. For $385 the companies promised to monitor for infringing marks and to record registrations with U.S. Customs and Border Protection. About 4,446 people paid roughly $1.66 million, and the services were never performed.

Read the case file · 1 source

Red flags

  • A “bureau”, “register” or “compliance” name that sounds like the real office but is a private company.
  • A deadline that does not match your own record in the official status system.
  • A fee for something the government does not charge for, such as “publication”, “monitoring” or “registration” from an unknown sender.
  • A return address that is not Alexandria, Virginia (zip 22313), or an email that is not @uspto.gov.
  • Payment by wire, payment app or gift card, or a request for payment by phone, text or email.
  • “Total due” and bank details in the body, with the fact that it is only an offer buried in small print.
  • Pressure to pay before you have talked to anyone, especially before your attorney has seen it.

If it’s happening to you

Do not pay a notice until you have checked your own record in the official status system.

  1. Look up your mark yourself. Use the USPTO’s TSDR (or the EUIPO’s register) and read the actual maintenance dates and documents.
  2. Compare the sender with the official examples. The USPTO publishes a list of solicitations it has received complaints about, and EUIPO publishes a searchable database.
  3. Send it to your attorney. A licensed trademark attorney can tell a real notice from a solicitation in moments.
  4. If you paid, dispute the charge. Contact your bank or card issuer, and keep the letter, envelope and receipt.
  5. Report it. Email the notice to [email protected], file at reportfraud.ftc.gov and ic3.gov, and report mailed notices to the Postal Inspection Service. See where to report for other countries.
  6. Tell the EUIPO if your notice concerned an EU trade mark; it collects these to support prosecutions.

Where the money goes

Into ordinary bank accounts, usually under company names designed to look official.

In the Californian case, prosecutors said the operators used other people’s identities to open virtual offices and bank accounts, so the letterhead’s Washington address led nowhere. In the South Carolina case, investigators found almost $2.3 million in accounts and $1.28 million in cheques that were never cashed. Recoveries after conviction are ordered as restitution or confiscation: more than $4.5 million was ordered in South Carolina, and about €200,000 was ordered confiscated in Munich, but the amount actually returned to victims is not stated in the sources read for this page.

The other half of this story

Our sibling site Clean on Paper explains why a “Washington address” on a letterhead proves nothing, a company can rent a virtual office, register a name and open an account in a day, which is all the credibility these letters need.

By the numbers

No published dataset breaks this scheme out as its own category yet, so there is no chart to show. The data page explains which agency categories exist and why some schemes are invisible in official statistics.

Sources

Every factual claim above traces to one of these. Statistics are reported losses; see methodology for what that does and does not measure.

  1. Criminal conviction in trademark renewal solicitation scam. United States Patent and Trademark Office. Accessed 2026-09-20. Supports: The Suhorukovs conviction: two impersonating entities, four mail-fraud counts, a sentence of more than four years, $4.5 million in restitution and the false expiry claim.
  2. Four-Year Sentence for Trademark Scammer. Dunlap Bennett & Ludwig. Accessed 2026-09-20. Supports: The March 2017 to January 2020 period, more than 2,900 victims, the fake-deadline example, the seized funds, and the advice to check the TSDR maintenance tab.
  3. Small Justice for Those Scammed by Fake Trademark Solicitations. Aronberg Goldgehn Davis & Garmisa. Accessed 2026-09-20. Supports: The case number, the use of public USPTO data to build mailing targets, and the similar scams aimed at patent holders.
  4. Trademark Solicitation Scams. Nutter McClennen & Fish LLP. Accessed 2026-09-20. Supports: The Trademark Compliance Center and Trademark Compliance Office case: $385 fee, 4,446 victims, $1.66 million, virtual offices and bank accounts opened in other people's names, and the USPTO's warning practices.
  5. Misleading EUIPO invoices: German criminal court finds three defendants guilty of fraud. European Union Intellectual Property Office. Accessed 2026-09-20. Supports: The September 2024 Munich convictions, sentences, roughly €200,000 confiscation, the letter wording, the December 2020 criminal complaint and the 2017 Swedish conviction.
  6. EUIPO fraud case: Convictions signal crackdown on scams. Chartered Institute of Trade Mark Attorneys (CITMA). Accessed 2026-09-20. Supports: Independent confirmation of the Munich outcome, and the reference to a 63% rise in UK unsolicited payment requests reported by the UK IPO.
  7. Scammers are impersonating the United States Patent and Trademark Office. Federal Trade Commission. Accessed 2026-09-20. Supports: The September 9, 2025 alert on calls, texts and emails using fake caller ID and real USPTO employee names, the payment methods requested, and the statement that the USPTO never asks for payment by phone, text, email, wire, apps or gift cards.
  8. What to do if you've been scammed. United States Patent and Trademark Office. Accessed 2026-09-20. Supports: The reporting steps: [email protected], the FTC, IC3, the Postal Inspection Service, disputing charges with the bank, and consulting a licensed trademark attorney.
  9. Non-USPTO Solicitations. United States Patent and Trademark Office. Accessed 2026-09-20. Supports: How solicitations resemble invoices, reference public USPTO records and use 'U.S.' in company names, and how genuine USPTO correspondence can be recognised.
  10. Surge in Trademark Fraud Scams Overwhelms Regulators, Applicants. Bloomberg Law. Accessed 2026-09-20. Supports: The $1,850 payment by one registrant to the fake 'Patent and Trademark Office' in the Suhorukovs case.

Common questions

Does the USPTO ever send an invoice for a trademark?

The USPTO's own guidance is that its correspondence comes from Alexandria, Virginia, zip code 22313, or from an @uspto.gov email address. The FTC's 2025 alert adds that the real USPTO never asks for payment by phone, text, email, wire transfer, payment apps or gift cards. Notices from a private company with a name including 'Patent', 'Trademark' or 'Bureau' are not the government.

How do I check whether a notice is real?

Look up your own application or registration in the USPTO's Trademark Status and Document Retrieval system (tsdr.uspto.gov). It shows the actual maintenance deadlines and every official document. If the deadline in the letter does not match, or the letter names a fee that does not appear there, treat it as a solicitation.

Is every unsolicited offer a crime?

No, and this page does not claim that. Many are legal but misleading, charging more than the real fee or selling a service you do not need. The cases here are the ones a court or prosecutor treated as fraud: a false expiry claim and a fake renewal, a monitoring service never performed, and letters whose 'invoice' status was disclosed only in tiny print.

I already paid. What now?

The USPTO advises collecting the notices, emails and receipts, emailing them to [email protected], asking your bank or card issuer to dispute the charge, and filing reports with the FTC, the FBI's IC3 and the Postal Inspection Service if it arrived by mail. A licensed trademark attorney can check that your real filings are in order.

Why does this keep happening?

Trademark filings are public by design, so anyone can build a mailing list of people who have just spent money on a mark. The USPTO publishes a list of solicitations it has received complaints about, but new names appear faster than they can be prosecuted; the 2021 South Carolina conviction described here was, at the time, unusual enough to be widely reported by law firms.

Where a fake trademark fee goesWhere a fake trademark fee goes. A small fee, times thousands of owners, into accounts built to look official. Where a fake trademark fee goesA small fee, times thousands of owners, into accounts built to look official.A trademark ownerA 'renewal' ormonitoring fee: $385in one case, $1,850 inanotherA company posing asthe patent officePayments deposited;4,446 people paid$1.66 million in onecase, 2,900+registrants in anotherBank accounts, someopened with others'identities$4.5 millionrestitution ordered inSouth Carolina; about€200,000 confiscatedin MunichSeizure, restitutionor confiscation, laterReversibilityA recall is realistically possible only at the first hop, and only in the first hours. After the money is converted it becomes an investigation, not a refund.Why a 'Washington address' on a letterhead proves nothing: Clean on Paper, our sibling sitehttps://cleanonpaper.com/techniques/shell-companies/Amounts from the Justice Department and USPTO cases and the EUIPO's Munich announcement, accessed 2026-09-20. The amount actually returned to victims is not stated in the sources read.howscamswork.com
Where the money goes after it leaves, and where it becomes hard to recover.

Report it

Reporting is what produces the enforcement data on this page. Find the right agency and phone number for your country on the report page. If money moved in the last few hours, call your bank first.