Detroit woman charged with $3 million in student aid for students whose coursework she allegedly did herself

2025 United States Charged

A federal complaint announced in September 2025 charged Michelle Hill, 48, of Detroit, with wire fraud in connection with a Federal Student Aid scheme. Court documents say that between July 2015 and July 2025 she obtained fraudulent aid involving more than 80 individuals, predominantly enrolled at Wayne County Community College, who were enrolled in the same or similar degree programs and taking the same or similar online courses. It is alleged that Hill often completed the coursework herself to make it appear the students were progressing and to prolong their eligibility. She is alleged to have caused more than $3 million in aid to be awarded, with more than $2.5 million disbursed. These are allegations. Hill is presumed innocent unless a court finds otherwise.

Year
2025
Where
United States
Outcome
Charged (an allegation, not a conviction)
Reported loss
$2.5 million
Victims
Not stated in the sources
Schemes
Ghost student financial aid fraud
Last reviewed
2026-10-21

The facts, as recorded

Why this case matters

It shows the part of the scheme that keeps the money flowing. The complaint alleges that Hill completed coursework on the students’ behalf to make it appear they were progressing toward degrees and to prolong their eligibility for aid, across more than 80 individuals and ten years.

What the Education OIG’s red flags look like in practice

The Education Department’s inspector general lists indicators that point to possible fraud ring activity, including multiple students with the same or similar online class schedules and attending multiple schools with little to no academic progress. The allegation here, many students in the same programs and the same courses, is one of those indicators described in a real case.

The caveat

Everything above is an allegation in a federal complaint. Hill is presumed innocent unless a court finds otherwise. The Education Department inspector general’s July 2026 newsletter describes a Michigan ringleader’s guilty plea with details matching this complaint, but it does not name her, so this page does not state that she pleaded guilty and treats the charge as the last confirmed status. This page did not find a sentence. It does not name or describe the students.

Sources

  1. Feds Say Detroit Man Fabricated 1,200 Students to Steal $16M. Townhall (Scott McClallen). Accessed 2026-10-21. Supports: The September 2025 complaint against Hill, the July 2015 to July 2025 period, the more than 80 individuals at Wayne County Community College, the same or similar programs and courses, the allegation that she completed coursework herself and the more than $3 million awarded and more than $2.5 million disbursed.
  2. FraudGram, July 2026, Issue 6. US Department of Education, Office of Inspector General. Accessed 2026-10-21. Supports: The description of a Michigan ringleader's guilty plea to a decade-long scam targeting more than $3 million in aid, with applications for more than 80 individuals completed across multiple semesters.
  3. Student Aid Administrators: Help Spot and Stop Student Aid Fraud Rings. US Department of Education, Office of Inspector General. Accessed 2026-10-21. Supports: The inspector general's list of fraud ring red flags, including multiple students with the same or similar online class schedules and attending multiple schools with little to no academic progress.

If a legal outcome in this case has changed, please tell us and the page will be corrected. See the corrections policy.